Fallout on amateurism

Discussion related to the K-State men's basketball team
Hypeman

Fallout on amateurism

Post by Hypeman » May 26th, 2020, 8:39 am

Good article from Ames. Since KSU is considering ending fall early, this seems to apply.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.amestr ... ate=ampart

So, how can we get by without paying these guys big money? I mentioned this on the football board a while back, the football players are just meat. Gladiators for entertainment. A degree is part of the pay, I guess, but with the exception of a few walk-one, most of the players get worthless pud degrees. They are here to play ball and universities don’t care about them otherwise.

Lawyers are salivating! I wish I was a lawyer because I’d be signing players up for my class action right and left!

I contend that these sports programs will be the end of universities as we know them, a handful of coaches and ADs, and trial lawyers will become filthy rich in the end. Public education and the middle class will pay the price.

PurpleOnWhite

Pick 'Em

Post by PurpleOnWhite » May 26th, 2020, 9:09 am

Many D1 football and basketball players would never set foot on a college campus without the athletic scholarship. Would they be better served going into the workforce (Or elsewhere) upon high school graduation or at least given an opportunity to obtain a degree? They have a free will to say no to the universities. And, at least to this guy who grew up with nothing and paid his way through college, the remuneration these D1 scholarship players are receiving is pretty nice compensation, NIL notwithstanding. Coaching salaries and facilities are another matter.

Hypeman

Post by Hypeman » May 26th, 2020, 10:29 am

PurpleOnWhite wrote:
May 26th, 2020, 9:09 am